Competent People

A Competent person, as defined by the ASIB for the purposes of listing, is a person who has written and passed the ASIB Examination of Competency and holds a numbered Certificate of Competency.

A competent person is required to maintain their certificate through calculation submissions and by writing refresher tests as and when required.

Competency certificates are given to individuals, and individuals while in the employ of a specific company. This is indicated in the competency certificate number in the form of an I or a C, for example 2008C-001. A company certificate holder automatically nullifies his company certificate when he leaves the associated company. He shall be able to re-write the examination after a period of 6 months.

A Competent person can have his certificate rendered invalid for a variety of reasons such as, but not limited to, the following:
  • Gross negligence or incompetence
  • Consistent incorrect calculations in submissions
  • Failure to maintain their level of knowledge

The following people have achieved competency certificates and the status of that certificate is indicated as below:

Name Last Name Certificate Number Valid
Matthew  Wentzel  2017I-090   
Matthew David   Collier  2013I-067   
Michael  Hofman  2009I-026   
Michael  Shires  2022C-P007   
Michelle  Herbst  2022C-112   
Mogamat  Reciet  2009I-043   
Monique   van der Bank  2018C-099   
Nathan Deon   Schoeman  2019I-102 / 2021I-P002   
Neil  Whittal  2009I-039   
Neil  De Saldanha  2012I-060   
Neil Clifford  Esprey  2016I-P003   
Neil Owen  Sheldon  2018I-096   
Nicholas  Manton  2009I-030   
Nico  van Loggerenberg  2011I-052   
Nicole  Warwick  2018I-093   
Paul Stephen  Hesse  2009I-025   
Peter  Booysen  2009I-010   
Phillip John  Wood  2009I-040   
Piet  Schutte  2019I-107   
Pieter  Lombard  2010I-047   
Quinton   Henning  2013I-066   
Quinton   Larson  2016I-083   
Rayno  van Niekerk  2019I-106   
Razeen   Adams  2021C-100   
Riaan   Furstenburg  2012I-059   
Rodney Paul  Dodkins  2009I-009   
Romaisa   Abdool  2018I-092   
Rudolf Jacobus  Grobbelaar  2009I-024   
Russ  Lodetti  2016I-080   
Saleem  Subrathi  2014I-071   
Sarel  Odendaal  2020I-109    
Shane  Wollenschlaeger  2015I-P002   
Steven   Robertson  2009I-042   
Terry  Gaffney  2011I-048   
Trevor  Williams  2009I-020   
Vitor  Da Costa  2009I-019   
Wade  Dixon  2018I-097   
Wade  Martin  2020I-110 / 2021I-P001   
Wesley Dean  Mcleod  2019C-105   
Wikus   Mostert  2023C-119