Competent People

A Competent person, as defined by the ASIB for the purposes of listing, is a person who has written and passed the ASIB Examination of Competency and holds a numbered Certificate of Competency.

A competent person is required to maintain their certificate through calculation submissions and by writing refresher tests as and when required.

Competency certificates are given to individuals, and individuals while in the employ of a specific company. This is indicated in the competency certificate number in the form of an I or a C, for example 2008C-001. A company certificate holder automatically nullifies his company certificate when he leaves the associated company. He shall be able to re-write the examination after a period of 6 months.

A Competent person can have his certificate rendered invalid for a variety of reasons such as, but not limited to, the following:
  • Gross negligence or incompetence
  • Consistent incorrect calculations in submissions
  • Failure to maintain their level of knowledge

The following people have achieved competency certificates and the status of that certificate is indicated as below:

Name Last Name Certificate Number Valid
George Grant  Williamson  2009I-038   
George  Chikurunhe  2011I-049   
George  Gerber  2017I-091   
Gary Mark  Le Breton  2016I-084   
Garryn Zane   Brooks  2016C-081 / 2021C-P004   
Fritz   Jongbloed  2022C-113   
Eugene Malachy  Quigley  2009I-032   
ErvĂ©  Dorfling  2021I-101   
Dorian   Krause  2012I-056   
Dirk  van der Walt  2018I-095   
Derrick Christopher  Botha  2009I-016   
Dean Blaikner  Nord  2018C-098   
Dean  Hodgkinson  2010I-044   
Dean  Waterston  2019I-104 / 2021I-P003   
Dawood  Jappie  2009I-029   
David Roy  Wicks  2015I-P001   
David Andrew  Edwards  2009I-008   
David  Odd  2009I-070   
Darryn Allan  Bradley  2009I-017   
Daniel  van der Merwe  2009I-007   
Craig Desmond   Davis  2012I-058   
Craig  van Wyk  2010I-046   
Cohan  Govender  2015I-076   
Codey  McKittrick  2023I-P006   
Clive  Adams  2014I-057   
Christopher  Jansen  2009I-028   
Christo  Furstenberg  2017C-087   
Catherine  Stewart  2009I-005   
Catherine  Robertson  2019I-108   
Cameron   van Wyk  2021C-103   
Calvin  Sofianos  2023C-118   
Brodie  Robertson  2014I-073   
Brian Norman  Hood  2009I-027   
Brian Nicholas   Vlok  2010I-045   
Bradley Eric  Cramond  2016I-078   
Benjamin   Scheffer  2016I-085   
Barry  Radmore  2019I-P006   
Athol Eric  Cockcroft  2009I-018   
Aslam  Haffejee  2022I-114   
Ashraf  Brown  2009I-041