Competent People

A Competent person, as defined by the ASIB for the purposes of listing, is a person who has written and passed the ASIB Examination of Competency and holds a numbered Certificate of Competency.

A competent person is required to maintain their certificate through calculation submissions and by writing refresher tests as and when required.

Competency certificates are given to individuals, and individuals while in the employ of a specific company. This is indicated in the competency certificate number in the form of an I or a C, for example 2008C-001. A company certificate holder automatically nullifies his company certificate when he leaves the associated company. He shall be able to re-write the examination after a period of 6 months.

A Competent person can have his certificate rendered invalid for a variety of reasons such as, but not limited to, the following:
  • Gross negligence or incompetence
  • Consistent incorrect calculations in submissions
  • Failure to maintain their level of knowledge

The following people have achieved competency certificates and the status of that certificate is indicated as below:

Name Last Name Certificate Number Valid
Jameel  Adams  2009I-015   
Peter  Booysen  2009I-010   
Derrick Christopher  Botha  2009I-016   
Darryn Allan  Bradley  2009I-017   
Athol Eric  Cockcroft  2009I-018   
Vitor  Da Costa  2009I-019   
Rodney Paul  Dodkins  2009I-009   
David Andrew  Edwards  2009I-008   
Kevin  Glover  2009I-023   
Rudolf Jacobus  Grobbelaar  2009I-024   
Paul Stephen  Hesse  2009I-025   
Michael  Hofman  2009I-026   
Brian Norman  Hood  2009I-027   
Christopher  Jansen  2009I-028   
Dawood  Jappie  2009I-029   
Nicholas  Manton  2009I-030   
Eugene Malachy  Quigley  2009I-032   
Mogamat  Reciet  2009I-043   
Arjen  Saris  2009I-033   
Catherine  Stewart  2009I-005   
Kevin E  Stols  2009I-034   
John Byron  Uffindell  2009I-006   
Daniel  van der Merwe  2009I-007   
Ivan Pieter  van Graan  2009I-035   
James Peter  Wasley  2009I-036   
Keith  Waterston  2009I-037   
George Grant  Williamson  2009I-038   
Neil  Whittal  2009I-039   
Phillip John  Wood  2009I-040   
Dean  Hodgkinson  2010I-044   
George  Chikurunhe  2011I-049   
Terry  Gaffney  2011I-048   
Hemand  Rampursat  2011I-051   
Kenneth  Smith  2011I-050   
Craig  van Wyk  2010I-046   
Brian Nicholas   Vlok  2010I-045   
Nico  van Loggerenberg  2011I-052   
Pieter  Lombard  2010I-047   
Ashraf  Brown  2009I-041   
Steven   Robertson  2009I-042