Competent People

A Competent person, as defined by the ASIB for the purposes of listing, is a person who has written and passed the ASIB Examination of Competency and holds a numbered Certificate of Competency.

A competent person is required to maintain their certificate through calculation submissions and by writing refresher tests as and when required.

Competency certificates are given to individuals, and individuals while in the employ of a specific company. This is indicated in the competency certificate number in the form of an I or a C, for example 2008C-001. A company certificate holder automatically nullifies his company certificate when he leaves the associated company. He shall be able to re-write the examination after a period of 6 months.

A Competent person can have his certificate rendered invalid for a variety of reasons such as, but not limited to, the following:
  • Gross negligence or incompetence
  • Consistent incorrect calculations in submissions
  • Failure to maintain their level of knowledge

The following people have achieved competency certificates and the status of that certificate is indicated as below:

Name Last Name Certificate Number Valid
Pieter  Lombard  2010I-047   
Christopher  Jansen  2009I-028   
David  Odd  2009I-070   
Willem Jacobus  Herbst  2013C-068   
Clive  Adams  2014I-057   
Jason  Gray  2013I-063   
Henk   Coetzee  2012I-054   
Phillip John  Wood  2009I-040   
Monique   van der Bank  2018C-099   
Michelle  Herbst  2022C-112   
Darryn Allan  Bradley  2009I-017   
Peter  Booysen  2009I-010   
Wynand Louis  Bruwer  2015C-074   
Athol Eric  Cockcroft  2009I-018   
Nicole  Warwick  2018I-093   
Arisha  Maharajh  2018I-094   
Neil Clifford  Esprey  2016I-P003   
Jacques  Stoop  2018I-P004 / 2021I-104   
Dirk  van der Walt  2018I-095   
Neil Owen  Sheldon  2018I-096   
Catherine  Robertson  2019I-108   
Wade  Dixon  2018I-097   
Dean Blaikner  Nord  2018C-098   
Benjamin   Scheffer  2016I-085   
Romaisa   Abdool  2018I-092   
George  Gerber  2017I-091   
Jason   Palmer  2016I-086   
Gary Mark  Le Breton  2016I-084   
Christo  Furstenberg  2017C-087   
Quinton   Larson  2016I-083   
Jean-Pierre   du Plessis  2016I-082   
Trevor  Williams  2009I-020   
Garryn Zane   Brooks  2016C-081 / 2021C-P004   
Jaco  Bekker  2017I-088 / 2021I-P005   
Johann  Du Preez  2017I-089   
Matthew  Wentzel  2017I-090   
Russ  Lodetti  2016I-080   
Mark  Leedham  2018I-100   
Cameron   van Wyk  2021C-103   
Johannes Paulus Christiaan   Grobler  2021I-105