Competent People

A Competent person, as defined by the ASIB for the purposes of listing, is a person who has written and passed the ASIB Examination of Competency and holds a numbered Certificate of Competency.

A competent person is required to maintain their certificate through calculation submissions and by writing refresher tests as and when required.

Competency certificates are given to individuals, and individuals while in the employ of a specific company. This is indicated in the competency certificate number in the form of an I or a C, for example 2008C-001. A company certificate holder automatically nullifies his company certificate when he leaves the associated company. He shall be able to re-write the examination after a period of 6 months.

A Competent person can have his certificate rendered invalid for a variety of reasons such as, but not limited to, the following:
  • Gross negligence or incompetence
  • Consistent incorrect calculations in submissions
  • Failure to maintain their level of knowledge

The following people have achieved competency certificates and the status of that certificate is indicated as below:

Name Last Name Certificate Number Valid
Romaisa   Abdool  2018I-092   
Jameel  Adams  2009I-015   
Clive  Adams  2014I-057   
Razeen   Adams  2021C-100   
Mark   Allen  2015I-075   
Antonio Dias  Balanco  2012I-055   
Grahame   Bargate  2011I-053   
Jaco  Bekker  2017I-088 / 2021I-P005   
Peter  Booysen  2009I-010   
Derrick Christopher  Botha  2009I-016   
Jarred  Bothma  2016I-077   
Darryn Allan  Bradley  2009I-017   
Grahame  Brogden  2013I-061   
Garryn Zane   Brooks  2016C-081 / 2021C-P004   
Ashraf  Brown  2009I-041   
Wynand Louis  Bruwer  2015C-074   
George  Chikurunhe  2011I-049   
Athol Eric  Cockcroft  2009I-018   
Henk   Coetzee  2012I-054   
Matthew David   Collier  2013I-067   
Bradley Eric  Cramond  2016I-078   
Vitor  Da Costa  2009I-019   
Craig Desmond   Davis  2012I-058   
Martinho   de Freitas  2013I-065   
Neil  De Saldanha  2012I-060   
Jason  Di Bona  2018I-P005   
Wade  Dixon  2018I-097   
Rodney Paul  Dodkins  2009I-009   
ErvĂ©  Dorfling  2021I-101   
Jean-Pierre   du Plessis  2016I-082   
Johannes Christiaan   du Plessis  2020I-111   
Johann  Du Preez  2017I-089   
David Andrew  Edwards  2009I-008   
Neil Clifford  Esprey  2016I-P003   
Hein   Fietze  2019C-103   
Kyle  Flanagan  2022C-P008   
Christo  Furstenberg  2017C-087   
Riaan   Furstenburg  2012I-059   
Terry  Gaffney  2011I-048   
George  Gerber  2017I-091