Competent People

A Competent person, as defined by the ASIB for the purposes of listing, is a person who has written and passed the ASIB Examination of Competency and holds a numbered Certificate of Competency.

A competent person is required to maintain their certificate through calculation submissions and by writing refresher tests as and when required.

Competency certificates are given to individuals, and individuals while in the employ of a specific company. This is indicated in the competency certificate number in the form of an I or a C, for example 2008C-001. A company certificate holder automatically nullifies his company certificate when he leaves the associated company. He shall be able to re-write the examination after a period of 6 months.

A Competent person can have his certificate rendered invalid for a variety of reasons such as, but not limited to, the following:
  • Gross negligence or incompetence
  • Consistent incorrect calculations in submissions
  • Failure to maintain their level of knowledge

The following people have achieved competency certificates and the status of that certificate is indicated as below:

Name Last Name Certificate Number Valid
Hemand  Rampursat  2011I-051   
Mogamat  Reciet  2009I-043   
Steven   Robertson  2009I-042   
Brodie  Robertson  2014I-073   
Catherine  Robertson  2019I-108   
Willem Roodt   Rossouw  2013I-064   
Arjen  Saris  2009I-033   
Benjamin   Scheffer  2016I-085   
Nathan Deon   Schoeman  2019I-102 / 2021I-P002   
Piet  Schutte  2019I-107   
Neil Owen  Sheldon  2018I-096   
Michael  Shires  2022C-P007   
Kenneth  Smith  2011I-050   
Catherine  Stewart  2009I-005   
Kevin E  Stols  2009I-034   
Jacques  Stoop  2018I-P004 / 2021I-104   
Saleem  Subrathi  2014I-071   
John Byron  Uffindell  2009I-006   
Monique   van der Bank  2018C-099   
Daniel  van der Merwe  2009I-007   
Dirk  van der Walt  2018I-095   
Ivan Pieter  van Graan  2009I-035   
Nico  van Loggerenberg  2011I-052   
Rayno  van Niekerk  2019I-106   
Craig  van Wyk  2010I-046   
Cameron   van Wyk  2021C-103   
Brian Nicholas   Vlok  2010I-045   
Nicole  Warwick  2018I-093   
James Peter  Wasley  2009I-036   
Keith  Waterston  2009I-037   
Dean  Waterston  2019I-104 / 2021I-P003   
Matthew  Wentzel  2017I-090   
Neil  Whittal  2009I-039   
David Roy  Wicks  2015I-P001   
Trevor  Williams  2009I-020   
George Grant  Williamson  2009I-038   
Shane  Wollenschlaeger  2015I-P002   
Phillip John  Wood  2009I-040