Competent People

A Competent person, as defined by the ASIB for the purposes of listing, is a person who has written and passed the ASIB Examination of Competency and holds a numbered Certificate of Competency.

A competent person is required to maintain their certificate through calculation submissions and by writing refresher tests as and when required.

Competency certificates are given to individuals, and individuals while in the employ of a specific company. This is indicated in the competency certificate number in the form of an I or a C, for example 2008C-001. A company certificate holder automatically nullifies his company certificate when he leaves the associated company. He shall be able to re-write the examination after a period of 6 months.

A Competent person can have his certificate rendered invalid for a variety of reasons such as, but not limited to, the following:
  • Gross negligence or incompetence
  • Consistent incorrect calculations in submissions
  • Failure to maintain their level of knowledge

The following people have achieved competency certificates and the status of that certificate is indicated as below:

Name Last Name Certificate Number Valid
Gary Mark  Le Breton  2016I-084   
George  Chikurunhe  2011I-049   
George  Gerber  2017I-091   
George Grant  Williamson  2009I-038   
Gordon  Moore  2014I-072   
Grahame   Bargate  2011I-053   
Grahame  Brogden  2013I-061   
Hein   Fietze  2019C-103   
Hemand  Rampursat  2011I-051   
Henk   Coetzee  2012I-054   
Herman   Rademan  2021C-101   
Ivan Pieter  van Graan  2009I-035   
Jaco  Bekker  2017I-088 / 2021I-P005   
Jacqueline  Oeschger  2013I-069   
Jacques  Stoop  2018I-P004 / 2021I-104   
Jameel  Adams  2009I-015   
James Peter  Wasley  2009I-036   
Jarred  Bothma  2016I-077   
Jason  Gray  2013I-063   
Jason   Palmer  2016I-086   
Jason  Di Bona  2018I-P005   
Jean-Pierre   du Plessis  2016I-082   
Jesse  Kleve  2019I-101   
Johann  Du Preez  2017I-089   
Johannes Christiaan   du Plessis  2020I-111   
Johannes Paulus Christiaan   Grobler  2021I-105   
John Byron  Uffindell  2009I-006   
Jonathan   Lewis  2013I-062   
Jullian  Niehaus  2023I-120   
Keith  Waterston  2009I-037   
Kenneth  Smith  2011I-050   
Kevin  Glover  2009I-023   
Kevin E  Stols  2009I-034   
Kyle  Flanagan  2022C-P008   
Lloyd William  Herbst  2016I-079   
Louis   Stroh  2023I-117   
Lufuno  Murabi  2022C-115   
Mark   Allen  2015I-075   
Mark  Leedham  2018I-100   
Martinho   de Freitas  2013I-065