Competent People

A Competent person, as defined by the ASIB for the purposes of listing, is a person who has written and passed the ASIB Examination of Competency and holds a numbered Certificate of Competency.

A competent person is required to maintain their certificate through calculation submissions and by writing refresher tests as and when required.

Competency certificates are given to individuals, and individuals while in the employ of a specific company. This is indicated in the competency certificate number in the form of an I or a C, for example 2008C-001. A company certificate holder automatically nullifies his company certificate when he leaves the associated company. He shall be able to re-write the examination after a period of 6 months.

A Competent person can have his certificate rendered invalid for a variety of reasons such as, but not limited to, the following:
  • Gross negligence or incompetence
  • Consistent incorrect calculations in submissions
  • Failure to maintain their level of knowledge

The following people have achieved competency certificates and the status of that certificate is indicated as below:

Name Last Name Certificate Number Valid
Rudolf Jacobus  Grobbelaar  2009I-024   
Paul Stephen  Hesse  2009I-025   
Michael  Hofman  2009I-026   
Brian Norman  Hood  2009I-027   
Dawood  Jappie  2009I-029   
Nicholas  Manton  2009I-030   
Eugene Malachy  Quigley  2009I-032   
Kenneth  Smith  2011I-050   
Craig  van Wyk  2010I-046   
Riaan   Furstenburg  2012I-059   
Neil  De Saldanha  2012I-060   
Grahame  Brogden  2013I-061   
Jonathan   Lewis  2013I-062   
Jacqueline  Oeschger  2013I-069   
Willem Roodt   Rossouw  2013I-064   
Martinho   de Freitas  2013I-065   
Quinton   Henning  2013I-066   
Matthew David   Collier  2013I-067   
Gordon  Moore  2014I-072   
Brodie  Robertson  2014I-073   
Craig Desmond   Davis  2012I-058   
Dorian   Krause  2012I-056   
Saleem  Subrathi  2014I-071   
Nico  van Loggerenberg  2011I-052   
Antonio Dias  Balanco  2012I-055   
Daniel  van der Merwe  2009I-007   
Grahame   Bargate  2011I-053   
Steven   Robertson  2009I-042   
Ashraf  Brown  2009I-041   
Brian Nicholas   Vlok  2010I-045   
Athol Eric  Cockcroft  2009I-018   
Darryn Allan  Bradley  2009I-017   
Wynand Louis  Bruwer  2015C-074   
Peter  Booysen  2009I-010   
David  Odd  2009I-070   
Willem Jacobus  Herbst  2013C-068   
Michelle  Herbst  2022C-112   
Monique   van der Bank  2018C-099   
Phillip John  Wood  2009I-040   
Christopher  Jansen  2009I-028